Contact East Office

Marianna Callagy
Ext. 11602

Terry Lauchman
Ext. 11604

April Ljumic, Administrator for School Counseling

Ext. 11521

Welcome to the Counseling Department

Our mission is to promote access for all students to an academically enriched, student-centered environment.  Counselors will deliver a comprehensive school counseling program to all students to enhance their academic, career, and social-emotional development.  In collaboration with other stakeholders, counselors will support all students in becoming responsible, literate, thinking, caring and contributing citizens. 

We encourage parents to call or e-mail their child's counselor with any questions they may have throughout the year.  For questions regarding grades and your child's academic progress, please contact your child's teacher(s) directly.

Contact West Office

Anna Boyle
Ext. 11603

Trina Capone
Ext. 11606

Julie Cummins
Ext. 11605

Peter Vanno
Ext. 11607

Jaclyn Mittman
Ext. 11612

April Ljumic, Administrator for School Counseling

Ext. 11521


The MHS College Counseling Program, headed by Ron Pollaro and Dennis DiSanto have received the 2018 New York State Outstanding Program Award by the New York State School Counselor Association (NYSSCA)!  This award recognizes the best professional practice in the field among New York State School Districts.  The Mahopac High School Counseling Department has worked hard to develop a comprehensive counseling program to guide students and their families through the college and post-secondary process.  

CONGRATULATIONS to this year's award recipients presented Nov. 16 during the NYSSCA Conference 2018 held at the Sagamore Resort in Bolton Landing, New York. The following awardees were recognized for their outstanding contribution to the profession of school counseling through the programs and services they provide to students:

(left to right) Kristen Shearer, Awards Committee Chair; Ron Pollaro, Mahopac School District, Outstanding Program; Veronica Puglisi, Victor School District, Administrator of the Year; James Shaw, Hudson Falls School District, School Counselor of the Year; Gloria Jean, College of Saint Rose, Career Achievement; Dr. Gail Reed-Barnett, President. (not pictured: Dennis DiSanto, Mahopac School District, for Outstanding Program.)